About GB '85


Gawthorpe Brass '85 was founded in 1985 and began with 38 youngsters, all beginners to brass playing. The organisation now has over 150 members.  Our youngest performers are around 2 years of age and our most 'experienced' members are in their 70's.

Our 'Music Fun Club' is designed to encourage our youngest members to learn how to make music.  They are able to try a wide range of instruments as well as having a great time singing and just having fun. Many of our senior band members started their music making this way. 

Our 'Music Workshop' is the next step up, aimed at 5 to 8 year olds.

Ready to tackle some Brass?  Start out with the 'Beginners' and then move your way up to the 'Training Band'. We will provide you with all the support you will need, together with an instrument, music and coaching.  This is the perfect first step on your brass band journey!

The Youth Band is there to support and guide our young performers and provide a natural feed of talent into our Senior Band.  These players are our stars of the future!

We are very proud of our Senior Band, Gawthorpe Brass '85.  Some of our previous players have gone on to play with the worlds' finest Brass Bands, such as Black Dyke (Sandy Smith), Grimethorpe (Ian Shires) and Brighouse & Rastrick (Michael Howley & Leigh Baker).

Over the years, we've had much success in contests and competitions. The younger groups have performed on 14 occasions at the Royal Festival Hall, and in 1991, played in the Royal Albert Hall in the 'Schools Prom' concert.

All of our Bands have a busy annual schedule of contests, competitions and concerts in addition to performances locally, nationally and internationally.
The organisation is financially self-supporting with concert fees, player subscriptions and parents' fund-raising efforts covering running costs.

Gawthorpe Brass '85 would not be here today without the vision, passion, tenacity and hard work of our dearly missed founder, Susan Elsworth.  It is no exaggeration to say that without her, thousands of youngsters would never had experienced the joy of music making. We thank her and miss her.

Our Executive Committee Members are:

President - Andrew Sutcliffe

Honorary Vice President - Leigh Baker

Chairman - Garry Bell

Treasurer - Tracy Sutcliffe

Secretary - Emma Whaites